iTweet. (TOW7)

Standard

 

I have a confession to make.

An admission of guilt, of sorts.

Since I first heard about it and learned what it was, Twitter never sounded like something I wanted to be a part of. Anytime I someone with one tried to explain or I read a snippet from a celebrity’s, I always was left more confused about this Twitter-thing than before.

I never understood how someone would keep up with it, why you would ever want one, what would you write about and…..wasn’t it just a waste of time?

Well, it does take up time–sometimes too much–but I found I fit right into the Twitter-verse pretty much instantly. Any worries about my not knowing how it worked or what to write about, pretty much ended after the first week of my signing up–for what I thought was just gonna be to complete a school assignment.

It’s very fair to say that I went from being ignorant and twitterless to being a very proficient “addict.” I use that term loosely– I just really, really enjoy it.

Considering the constant dedication with which I keep up with it (I even downloaded a little Twitter Timeline scroll app for my laptop–it’s best I can do without a smartphone!) and the fervor with which I contribute my own statements, thoughts, experiences and worship lyrics to the billions and trillions of others each day, my friends would (and DO!) call me “addicted.”

See. Now, I have to explain a few things.

  1. At this point and time, I do not have a Facebook: therefore Twitter is my only outlet of social networking. Call me deprived–whatever. So you must forgive me if my Twittering is a bit heavier and more frequent than normal people. So what? ………What is normal, anyway?* ;-D
  2. Just because I had 100 tweets in only 10 days and 157 tweets after 20 days… doesn’t mean anything, ok? Especially not an ”addiction.” I just find I have a lot to comment on and tweet about…which brings me to my next point.*
  3. I will “talk” about almost anything more openly and thoroughly in writing than I ever would verbally. You put me in a class discussion and, even if I know the answer like the back of my hand, I will not say a word unless asked/forced…(or I’m really super comfortable in that class). Something about me and public speaking: we never seem to mesh well at all. MY point in saying all this: you ask me a question on paper/computer, and I will produce for you a detailed novel–analyzing every area of that topic to the best of my knowledge–even if you had just asked me the same question verbally and I had remained silent like an ignorant mute.
  4. Personally, I just connect better with people through writing. Because I find myself more willing to be bolder than usual, I know I have made more acquaintences/connections and been able to further cultivate current friendships with Twitter than I would have without it. Why? Because I am also more likely to address someone directly through Twitter than just walking up and talking to them in person. Why? Because communication through writing is my strength–where I am comfortable and confident. So….Good? Bad?                                                                                                                                                                        Both. In business, writing skills are very important. However, I know I can’t always rely on my writing for communication. There will be times, I am very certain, when I will have to open up my mouth and say something–something that cannot be conveyed, like a speech presentation, through the written word…. or when the message is too urgent/vital to be translated into words on a page. Strength in verbal communication is a practically a necessity to a good leader.
  5. I have really come to enjoy Twitter as a social outlet; and all the little joys of a new follower, a re-tweet or a reply. It helps me feel more connected to  my community and friends. With Twitter, we all get to see and show a side of ourselves which can only be portrayed in 140 characters. 🙂

(*Note:* *I use sarcasm and feign emotions I’m really not feeling way too often. The problem with this, is when it comes out in my writing, which occurs all the time– I am very much unable to put a tone onto my written words. I fear this may often lead to misinterpretation or misunderstanding of my message. I try to fix it with ellipsis and smileys.)

About Isa Ramos

ME: SEU Sophomore. Writer. Editor. Reader. Event Planner/Organizer. List-Maker. Floridian by birth. 50% Spain-ish. Amateur Athlete. Aspiring Chef. Servant-Leader. Daughter of the King of Kings. LOVE: Worship; a Fresh Fruit Salad; Storms, Breezes; Seashells, Waves, Sunsets; Autumn Leaves; a Camp Fire; My Family & Friends; The Holiday Season; Sparkling Christmas Lights; Disney Fireworks. ENJOY: Grilled Cheese; Traveling; Soccer, Frisbee, Tennis, Swimming, Volleyball; Watching the World Cup; the Olympics; Peanut Butter and Nutella Sandwiches; Spanish Tapas; Chocolate-Covered Strawberries; Chocolate Cake. FAV. PLACES: Home, IKEA of Orlando, Sarasota, South Dartmouth, Newport, Mallorca, Barcelona; Epcot; KOBE' Steakhouse, The Cheesecake Factory. DREAM VACATIONS: Tahiti, Bahamas, Hawaii; Alaska, Canada; Italy, Sweden, Ireland; Israel; Colorado, California, North Carolina, New York.

One response »

  1. Pingback: “And now it’s time to talk about what we’ve learned today.” (TOW15- Last One) « Isa's First Blog

Leave a Reply

